

CITY OF FORT LAUDERDALE POLICE DEPARTMENT PRESS RELEASE

May 6, 2009

FORT LAUDERDALE POLICE MEMORIAL

The Fort Lauderdale Police Memorial will be held today at 2:00 P.M. The event, which is sponsored each year by the Fort Lauderdale Fraternal Order of Police Lodge 31, will honor our 12 Fort Lauderdale Police Officers who have been killed in the line of duty.

The memorial will be taking place at the Fort Lauderdale Police Memorial inside of Esplanade Park. The memorial is in front of the Broward Center for the Performing Arts located at 500 Southwest 2nd Street, Fort Lauderdale.

The service will be approximately 30 minutes. Members of the media and public are invited to attend.

The following is the list of our 12 officers who made the ultimate sacrifice:

R. DWIGHT JOHNSTON, died in the line of duty as a result of a motorcycle accident, April 5, 1947.

DONALD E. KIRBY, JR., died as a result of injuries sustained in a motorcycle accident, October 9, 1968.

D. WALTER ILYANKOFF, was murdered by four culprits during an armed robbery of a local restaurant, July 21, 1974.

GREGORY J. CONNERS, died in the line of duty as a result of a motorcycle accident, November 12, 1977.

JOHN C. ALEXANDER, killed in a police airplane crash in the line of duty, August 3, 1981.

KENNETH PETERSEN, killed in a police airplane crash in the line of duty, August 3, 1981.

CHARLES E. BRUCE, died as a result of injuries sustained in a motorcycle accident, August 24, 1983.

FRANK A. MASTRANGELO, killed in a police airplane crash in the line of duty, May 25, 1989.

NORMAN EDDY, killed in a police airplane crash in the line of duty, May 25, 1989.

DAVID L. BROWER, died as a result of injuries sustained in a motorcycle accident, December 29, 1994.

BRYANT H. PENEY, was murdered while investigating a person acting in a suspicious manner, January 6, 1996.

JOSE A. DIAZ, died as a result of injuries sustained in a fall, October 8, 2005.

###