

CITY OF FORT LAUDERDALE POLICE DEPARTMENT PRESS RELEASE

April 25, 2011

FORT LAUDERDALE POLICE MEMORIAL

On Friday, May 6th, 2011, beginning at 1:30 P.M. the Fort Lauderdale Fraternal Order of Police No. 31 will be honoring 12 Fort Lauderdale Police Officers who have been killed in the line of duty.

The event will be taking place at the Fort Lauderdale Police Memorial in Esplanade Park. Esplanade Park is located in front of the Broward Center for the Performing Arts at 500 SW 2nd Street, Fort Lauderdale.

The service will run approximately 30 minutes.

Following is a list of these 12 officers being honored:

R. DWIGHT JOHNSTON, died in the line of duty as a result of a motorcycle accident, April 5, 1947.

DONALD E. KIRBY, JR., died as a result of injuries sustained in a motorcycle accident, October 9, 1968.

D. WALTER ILYANKOFF, was murdered by four culprits during an armed robbery of a local restaurant, July 21, 1974.

GREGORY J. CONNERS, died in the line of duty as a result of a motorcycle accident, November 12, 1977.

JOHN C. ALEXANDER, killed in a police airplane crash in the line of duty, August 3, 1981.

KENNETH PETERSEN, killed in a police airplane crash in the line of duty, August 3, 1981.

(more)

CHARLES E. BRUCE, died as a result of injuries sustained in a motorcycle accident, August 24, 1983.

FRANK A. MASTRANGELO, killed in a police airplane crash in the line of duty, May 25, 1989.

NORMAN EDDY, killed in a police airplane crash in the line of duty, May 25, 1989.

DAVID L. BROWER, died as a result of injuries sustained in a motorcycle accident, December 29, 1994.

BRYANT H. PENEY, was murdered while investigating a person acting in a suspicious manner, January 6, 1996.

JOSE A. DIAZ, died as a result of injuries sustained in a fall, October 8, 2005.

For additional information contact FOP President Jack Lokeinsky (954) 527-2606.

###